Advisory Boards

We are very fortunate to have talented and dedicated individuals who help guide the work of the Center. The external Science Advisory Board is made up of current and past Directors or Core leaders of other National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) Environmental Health Sciences (EHS) Core Centers. They attend our annual retreat and take part in an annual meeting to review our progress and make suggestions for new initiatives and improvements. Our Community Outreach and Ethics Core (COEC) is guided by input from our Community Advisory Board, which is centered around the three main areas of emphasis of our COEC including: Educators, Communication and Community Engagement, and Tribal Work. This board is made up of leaders in the community who represent the various stakeholder groups that COEC serves.

Science Advisory Board 

John Groopman, PhD, Board Chair, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Melissa Bondy, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine

Deborah Cory-Slechta, PhD, University of Rochester Medical Center

Charlene McQueen, PhD, University of Arizona

Curtis Omiecinski, PhD, Penn State University

Ivan Rusyn, PhD, Texas A&M University

Michael Skinner, PhD, Washington State University

Robert H. Waterston, MD, PhD, University of Washington School of Medicine

Community Advisory Board 

Educators Sub-group:

Renee Agustama, PhDc, UW Institute of Public Health Genetics, teacher at Cornish Institute of the Arts

Jen Eklund, Logan Center for Education, Institute for Systems Biology

Maureen Munn, UW Molecular Biotechnology Education Outreach Group

Nancy Sedlacek, Consumer sciences teacher

Nancy Simcox, UW Continuing Education program, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences (DEOHS)

Kristi Straus, UW Program on the Environment

Jay Young, Social Studies teacher, Wenatchee High School

Communication & Community Engagement Sub-group:

BJ Cummings, formerly with Duwamish River Cleanup Coalition (DRCC)

Nicole Sadow-Hasenberg, formerly with Seattle King County Public Health

Angie Hong, Environmental Planner, Washington Department of Natural Resources, Aquatics Division

Sally James, Freelance writer on medicine and science literacy

Elise Miller, Collaborative on Health and the Environment

Maria Victoria Peeler, Peeler Environmental, formerly with the Washington State Department of Ecology

Jen Wroblewski, Public Engagement Manager, Northwest Association for Biomedical Research

Tribal Work Sub-group:

Janice Brendible (Tsimshian), Indigenous Peoples Culture

Elizabeth Campbell (Spokane), Native Foods

Katrina Claw (Dine), Post-doctoral graduate student, UW Genome Sciences 

Roger Fernandes (Lower Elwha K'lallam), Artist

Kristi Leora Gansworth (Anashinabe), Digital storyteller

Tleena Ives (Port Gamble S'Klallam), Early childhood specialist

Adib Jamshedi (Lummi), Lummi Ventures

Jessica Porter (Chinook), Musician 

Valerie Segrest (Muckleshoot), Native foods educator

LaBelle Urbanec (Lummi), Northwest Indian College