Occupational Medicine Residency


Established in 1977, the Occupational Medicine Residency (OMR) at the University of Washington is one of the longest-standing programs of its kind in the United States.

It is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education and receives funding through the CDC National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

The goal of OMR is to produce graduates who are leaders in occupational medicine and prepared to address regional and emerging occupational and environmental medicine needs using evidence-based clinical, cutting-edge research and interdisciplinary approaches. 

The training program offers outstanding clinical training in rotations throughout the UW and a variety of local experiences, such as the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard, the VA Puget Sound Health Center, the Washington Department of Labor & Industries and the Hanford Nuclear Reservation.

Most trainees are concurrently enrolled in a two-year Master of Public Health degree program in the UW School of Public Health that combines core curriculum and courses pertinent to the training of OMR physicians.

Graduates of the program are eligible to become board-certified in Occupational Medicine through the American Board of Preventive Medicine. Alumni are employed in a variety of careers in diverse fields such as direct patient care, academics and federal and state agencies influencing public policy.

To apply or for more information: https://gim.uw.edu/education/occupational-and-environmental-medicine-oem-residency


Occupational and Environmental Medicine Program Director

June Spector, MD, MPH  

Occupational and Environmental Medicine Residency Director

Debra Cherry, MD, MS    

Core faculty

Joel Kaufman, MD, MPH

Esi Nkyekyer, MD, MPH

Peter Rabinowitz, MD, MPH

Cora Sack, MD, MPH

Ann Tu, MD, MPH

Sverre Vedal, MD, MPH

Supporting faculty

Gary Franklin, MD, MPH

Stephen Hunt, MD, MPH  

Catherine Karr, MD

Matt Keifer, MD, MPH  

Nicholas Reul, MD, MPH  

Paul Faestel, MD, MPH 

Bruce Christen, MD 

Paul Darby, MD, MPH, PhD

Abid Haq, MD, MPH 

Betty Ann Cohen, MD, MPH

Alvin Nayan, MD, MPH

Betty Chen, MD

David Bonauto, MD, MPH  

Tanya Meyer, MD

Leah Concannon, MD

Jennifer Zumsteg, MD